You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

This week in Storm history.

July 21

2006: Winger Matt Geyer becomes the first player from the Victorian franchise to play 200 games for the club.

2008: Referee Gavin Badger sends St George Illawarra prop Jason Ryles from the field after an innocuous incident involving Melbourne prop Jeff Lima in a drama-charged Monday Night clash at Olympic Park. The send-off was preceded by a wild brawl that ended with three players sent to the sin bin. The Storm won 26-0. Ryles was not charged by the match review committee and Badger was later dumped from first grade.

2010: The Melbourne Storm appoints former IT company managing director Ron Gauci as the club’s new chief executive.

2012: A day after Stephen Kearney announces he is standing down as Parramatta coach, the Eels conjure one of the boil-overs of the season by downing competition leaders Melbourne 16-10 at Parramatta Stadium. The loss is the Storm’s fourth in succession.

July 22

2017: Melbourne suffer a double injury blow on their way to a 20-14 victory over Canberra at GIO Stadium. Fullback Billy Slater is carried from the field heavily concussed after a late and high tackle by Raiders forward Sia Soliola while captain Cameron Smith is forced off early in the second half with a pectoral muscle injury.

July 23

1997: Super League supremo Ian Frykberg says a Melbourne side will not be included in any national competition unless it can prove to be self‑supporting.

2002: Melbourne sign Brisbane rookie Robert Tanielu and re-sign Junior Langi, Kirk Reynoldson and Cameron Smith.

July 24

1998: The Melbourne Storm emerge as a genuine premiership threat after their 32-16 defeat of Newcastle at Olympic Park

2002: Melbourne sign St Gregory’s College star Ryan Hoffman for two seasons.

July 25

1999: Melbourne inflict Cronulla’s first loss for the season at Shark Park with a 26-18 victory

2002: Canberra confirm the signing of Melbourne forward Matt Rua.

2015: The Melbourne Storm down St George Illawarra 22-4 in a history-making clash at Napier’s McLean Park. A crowd of 14,532 attends the first NRL game at the Hawke’s Bay venue

July 26

2000: Northern Eagles halfback Matt Orford signs a two-year deal with the Melbourne Storm.

July 27

2000: Melbourne coach Chris Anderson launches an amazing attack on the Brisbane Broncos, labelling them as arrogant and accusing them of putting themselves ahead of the game.

2003: Long-serving Melbourne winger Marcus Bai signs a two-year deal with Leeds.

2004: Bulldogs forward Jamie Feeney signs with Melbourne for three years.

2007: The Sydney Roosters down Melbourne 26-16 at Sydney Football Stadium in the season’s biggest upset. Caretaker coach Brad Fittler claims his third successive win and is given a standing ovation by fans.

2008: The incredible winning run of Melbourne second-rower Michael Crocker ends at 33 when the Storm are upset 8-6 by the Warriors at Mt Smart Stadium.

2019: Manly captain Daly Cherry-Evans lands a 25-metre golden point field goal to secure an 11-10 win over arch-rivals the Melbourne Storm at AAMI Park.

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.