You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
This week in Storm history | July 7 - 13

We take a look back at significant moments in the club's history during this week in years gone by.

July 7

2006: The Storm’s biggest home crowd in six years of 15,479 celebrates a high quality 10-4 win over Brisbane.

2010: Billy Slater is named man of the series after Queensland claim their first State of Origin series clean-sweep since 1995 with a gripping 23-18 defeat of New South Wales at ANZ Stadium.

July 9

2011: Wet weather limits the attendance to less than 10,000 when Canterbury host the Melbourne Storm at Adelaide Oval. The Storm inflict further pain on the Bulldogs with a 28-18 win.

2017: Queensland fullback Billy Slater sends a scare through the Maroons camp days out from the Origin decider when he rolls an ankle during a training session.

July 10

2007: Melbourne centre Matt King confirms he will join Warrington on a lucrative four-year deal

2019: Dale Finucane and Josh Addo-Carr become State of Origin series champions as New South Wales claims back-to-back Origin series victories for the first time since 2005 after a thrilling last-ditch win over Queensland at ANZ Stadium.

July 11

2003: Melbourne Storm boss John Ribot denies the possibility of a merger with AFL team Collingwood. ‘I don’t think you’ll see us merging,’ said Ribot. ‘I’ve got more chance of flying to the moon’

2012: Melbourne mid-season recruit Richie Fa’aoso is on the move again after signing a two-year deal with Manly from 2013.

2013: Storm coach Craig Bellamy calls for the State of Origin series to be conducted in successive weeks to limit the impact on the NRL competition.

2013: Melbourne forward Jason Ryles reveals he will retire at the end of the season to take up a captain-coach job with his former club Wests Wollongong.

2018: Queensland send fullback Billy Slater out on a fitting note after an 18-12 victory. Slater is later named man of the match and is controversially awarded the Wally Lewis Medal as player of the series.

July 12

2001: Penrith announce the signing of Melbourne forward Ben Roarty to a two-year contract .

2010: Melbourne Storm second-rower Ryan Hoffman signs with English Super League club Wigan.

2017: Cameron Smith is named man of the match as Queensland overcome the absence of Johnathan Thurston, Greg Inglis, Matt Scott and Darius Boyd to storm to their 11th Origin series victory in 12 years after crushing the Blues 22-6 before a record crowd at Suncorp Stadium.

July 13

2011: Wests Tigers end months of speculation by confirming that Melbourne and New Zealand forward Adam Blair has signed a four-year deal with the club from 2012.

2016: Melbourne outside back Young Tonumaipea re-signs with the Storm until the end of 2018.

2019: Cameron Smith becomes the first player to achieve the milestone of 400 NRL games as the Storm easily account for Cronulla 40-16 at AAMI Park.

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.