You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Finucane named Player of the Year

Co-vice captain Dale Finucane has been named Melbourne Storm's Player of the Year tonight in front of 700 people at Crown Palladium.

After finishing runner up in last year's count, the 28-year-old received 31 votes this season, edging out skipper Cameron Smith (30 votes), co-vice captain Jesse Bromwich (23 votes), Jahrome Hughes (21 votes) and Ryan Papenhuyzen (20 votes) to claim the club's highest individual honour.

Finucane is all heart on and off the field. Arguably among the toughest players in the league, he is undoubtedly one of the most genuine and a deserving winner given his outstanding form and leadership over the past five seasons.

Held in the highest esteem by head coach Craig Bellamy, Finucane's work ethic, professionalism and courageous style of play earned him a long-awaited Origin debut in 2019.

The Player of the Year title has capped his career-best season.

Other award winners included Cameron Smith (Best Forward of the Year, Suzuki Members' Player of the Year), Jahrome Hughes (Best Back of the Year) and Tui Kamikamica (Most Improved Player of the Year).

Joe Stimson, Will Chambers, Billy Walters and Solomone Kata farewelled the club and Chambers was honoured with life membership.

The Player of the Year Awards were presented by NED Whisky, a uniquely Australian whisky distilled in Victoria with local grain.

Player of the Year

Dale Finucane

Suzuki Members' Player of the Year

Cameron Smith

Best Forward of the Year

Cameron Smith

Best Back of the Year

Jahrome Hughes

Most Improved Player of the Year

Tui Kamikamica

Billy Slater Rookie of the Year

Ryan Papenhuyzen

Cooper Cronk Feeder Club Player of the Year

Harry Grant

Under 20s Darren Bell Medal

Trent Toelau

Try of the Year

Josh Addo-Carr


Support #YourStorm in 2020 - view our membership packages here.

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.