Melbourne Storm is set to field a near full-strength starting lineup in a blockbuster season opener against the Brisbane Broncos at AAMI Park on Thursday night.

The 21-man squad named today includes 14 players from last year's Grand Final team and four players yet to wear the Storm colours in an NRL game.

The quartet of Ryan Papenhuyzen, Tom Eisenhuth, Billy Walters and Marion Seve have all been named on the extended interchange bench which will be reduced later in the week.

With Billy Slater now enjoying retirement, Jahrome Hughes will start at fullback, with Scott Drinkwater ruled out for up to four months with a pec injury. 

Will Chambers returns in the centres after missing both pre-season trials.

Grand final squad member Joe Stimson will be rested due to a sore lower back.

The final 17 for round one will be announced one hour prior to kick off.

Round 1 - Melbourne Storm v Brisbane Broncos

Thursday 14 March

Kick-off: 7.50pm

Gates open: 6.30pm

Broadcast: Fox Sports and Nine Gem from 7.50pm

  1. Jahrome Hughes
  2. Suliasi Vunivalu
  3. Will Chambers
  4. Curtis Scott
  5. Josh Addo-Carr
  6. Cameron Munster
  7. Brodie Croft
  8. Jesse Bromwich
  9. Cameron Smith
  10. Nelson Asofa-Solomona
  11. Felise Kaufusi 
  12. Kenny Bromwich
  13. Dale Finucane
  14. Brandon Smith
  15. Christian Welch
  16. Tui Kamikamica
  17. Patrick Kaufusi
  18. Ryan Papenhuyzen
  19. Tom Eisenhuth
  20. Billy Walters
  21. Marion Seve