You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Walters names Queensland squad

Maroons Coach Kevin Walters has named his side for Origin 1 at the MCG on June 6, including four Storm players.

Regulars Billy Slater and Will Chambers have earned selection while Cameron Munster will again assume the five-eighth role after performing brilliantly in last year's decider. After consecutive years knocking on the door, Felise Kaufusi has also earned a call up and is set to make his Queensland debut in the series opener.

Queensland will be without long time skipper Cameron Smith for the first time this series after Smith announced his retirement from all representative football two weeks ago.

Greg Inglis will assume the role as Queensland captain while Walters has also named three debutants with  duo Andrew McCullough and Jai Arrow ready to make the step up alongside Kaufusi.

The teams are in! Witness Australia's greatest sporting rivalry when State of Origin comes to the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Wednesday, June 6. Tickets available at

Queensland Maroons
Game 1, Wednesday 6 June - MCG

Billy Slater
Valentine Holmes
Greg Inglis (c)
Will Chambers
Dane Gagai
Cameron Munster
Ben Hunt
Dylan Napa
Andrew McCullough
Jarrod Wallace
Gavin Cooper
Felise Kaufusi
Josh McGuire
Michael Morgan
Josh Papalii
Coen Hess
Jai Arrow

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premium Partners

Official Partners

View All Partners