You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Melbourne Storm has today announced its leadership group for the 2016 NRL season.

Blake Green and Jesse Bromwich have joined long-standing members Cameron Smith, Billy Slater and Cooper Cronk in the leadership group.

Smith will captain the side for a ninth consecutive season and will again lead Storm, Queensland and Australia onto the field in 2016.

Storm’s leadership group has grown to five this season, with Green and Bromwich added after the departure of favourite son Ryan Hinchcliffe in the off-season.

The emergence of Bromwich as leader has paralleled his on-field success in recent years, with the Kiwi international now widely considered to be the NRL’s premiere big man.

A graduate of the Club’s U20s system, Bromwich has been named Storm Player of the Year for the past two seasons and was awarded the 2015 NZRL Player of the Year award last month.

Green on the other hand has experienced a more rapid rise into the leadership role.

After several years in the English Super League the 29-year-old joined Storm for the 2015 season, playing every game as he established a formidable halves pairing alongside Cronk.

Storm will kick-off its 2016 season with back-to-back home games at AAMI Park against the Dragons on March 7 and Titans on March 13.

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.