You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Digital Image by Brett Crockford © :	Cameron Smith  NRL, Rugby League, Round 2, Melbourne Storm v  Penrith Panthers @ AAMI Park, Melbourne, VIC, Saturday March 15th, 2014.

Melbourne Storm v Brisbane Broncos
Friday 25 July, 7:45pm
Suncorp Stadium


TV: GEM – Live 7.30pm

Online: NRL Digital Pass

Radio: Triple M, ABC


Melbourne Storm travel to Suncorp Stadium on Friday night as they take on sixth-placed Brisbane Broncos.

Both sides are coming off impressive wins in the Round 19 last weekend and will be looking to distance themselves from each other on the ladder as the season starts to heat up. Storm toppled the Raiders 28-14 at AAMI Park while the Broncos dismantled the travelling Warriors in a narrow six point win.

In what was a crucial game for Storm last weekend, Craig Bellamy’s men put on a dominant performance as halfback Cooper Cronk and captain Cameron Smith led from the front to claim the two premiership points. For now, Bellamy and his team will need to keep up the momentum as the squad tackle the remaining games of the season in the hope of consolidating their top eight position.

Like Melbourne, the Broncos will be hoping to keep their finals hopes in good shape. Brisbane currently sit on equal points with Storm on the ladder and need a big display in front of their home fans to push for a top-four finish.

Be at AAMI Park when Storm host the Sharks in Round 23. Tickets here.

It was a big week for the Brisbane team, with coach Anthony Griffin made aware he would not be required for the 2015 season with former manager Wayne Bennett set to take the reigns next season.

Craig Bellamy has named a 19-man extended bench for Fridays clash in Brisbane, with Dayne Weston and Young Tonumaipea added.

For Anthony Griffin, he made slight changes to his line-up that took on the Warriors and has included Jack Reed, Daniel Vidot and Corey Oates to the eight-man Brisbane bench.

History suggests that we are in for another huge encounter between these two heavyweight clubs. From 36 games played, Storm have won 22 and the Broncos have won 11.


Referees – Jared Maxwell & Gavin Reynolds

Sideline Officials – Jason Walsh & Russell Turner

Video Referees – Steve Clark & Ben Galea


Played: 34

Melbourne: 22

South Sydney: 22

Draw: 1


Round 17 2013 – Melbourne Storm 32 (Maurice Blair 2, Jesse Browmwich, Ryan Hinchcliffe, Justin O’Neill, Sisa Waqa; Goals: Cameron Smith 4) defeated Brisbane Broncos 0


Round 17 2013 – Melbourne Storm 32 (Maurice Blair 2, Jesse Browmwich, Ryan Hinchcliffe, Justin O’Neill, Sisa Waqa; Goals: Cameron Smith 4) defeated Brisbane Broncos 0

Round 4, 2013 – Melbourne Storm 32 (Billy Slater 3, Matt Duffie 2, Junior Sa’u; Goals: Cameron Smith 4) defeated Brisbane Broncos 26 (Josh Hoffman 3, Alex Glenn, Jack Reed; Goals: Scott Prince 3)

Round 24, 2012 – Melbourne Storm 19 (Sisa Waqa 2, Cooper Cronk; Goals: Cameron Smith 3; Field Goals: Cooper Cronk) defeated Brisbane Bronco 18 (Ben Te’o 2, Justin Hodges; Goals: Peter Wallace 3)

Round 12, 2012 – Melbourne Storm 34 (Todd Lowrie 2, Billy Slater 2, Will Chambers, Justin O’Neill; Goals: Gareth Widdop 5) defeated Brisbane Broncos 10 (Ben Te’o, Jack Reed; Goals: Corey Parker 1)

Round 20, 2011 – Melbourne Storm 26 (Maurice Blair 2, Cooper Cronk, Justin O’Neill; Goals: Cameron Smith 5) defeated Brisbane Broncos 6 (Jharal Yow Yeh; Goals: Corey Parker 1)

The views expressed in this article are solely of the author and do not reflect the views of Melbourne Storm Rugby League Club.

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.