You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Young Tonumaipea (Melbourne Storm):	NRL, Rugby League, Trial Game, Melbourne Storm v  Canberra Raiders @ AAMI Park, Melbourne, VIC, Saturday February 8th, 2013. Digital Image by Brett Crockford ©

Melbourne Storm Coach Craig Bellamy has named his first squad of the 2014 season, including young Victorian Young Tonumaipea in the squad for the Round 1 opener.

Tonumaipea has been named on the wing and is in line to make his first-grade debut alongside Mahe Fonua on an all Victorian left edge. The 21-year old has impressed in Storm's 2014 trials, backing up a solid first season of senior football in 2013 with Cronulla after graduating from the club's U20 system. In 2012, Tonumaipea won Storm's Under 20’s Player of the Year Award as well as the Greg Brentnall Young Achievers Award thanks to a breakout year where he scored 11 tries. 

A Northern Thunder (Melbourne) junior, the outside back's powerful running game proved a dangerous weapon for Storm's NSW Cup feeder club Cronulla on their run to the NSW Cup Premiership.

Bellamy has selected a strong side for the season opener with an experienced front-row including Captain Cameron Smith, internationals Jesse Bromwich, Kevin Proctor and Ryan Hoffman alongside the experienced duo of Bryan Norrie and Ryan Hinchcliffe. Fullback Billy Slater has also been named after missing Melbourne's trial matches throughout pre-season.

Ben Hampton and Ben Roberts will occupy Storm's halves positions with Cooper Cronk sidelined for one more week due to a shoulder injury.


Melbourne Storm v Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles

Saturday 8 March, 7pm - Brookvale Oval

1. Billy Slater

2. Sisa Waqa

3. Will Chambers

4. Mahe Fonua

5. Young Tonumaipea

6. Ben Hampton

7. Ben Roberts

8. Jesse Bromwich

9. Cameron Smith ©

10. Bryan Norrie

11. Kevin Proctor

12. Ryan Hoffman

13. Ryan Hinchcliffe


14. Kenny Bromwich

15. Tohu Harris

16. Jordan McLean

17. George Rose

18. Mitch Garbutt

19. Slade Griffin

20. Joel Romelo


Cronulla Sharks v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

Saturday, March 8, 5pm - Belmore Sports Ground

Kurt Mann

Junior Moors

Dayne Weston

Queensland Cup

Wynumm Manly Seagulls  v Easts Tigers

Sunday 9 March, 2pm - BMD Kougari Oval

Richie Kennar

Hymel Hunt

Cody Walker

Tim Glasby

Felise Kaufusi

Matt Lodge


Melbourne Storm v Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles

Saturday 8 March, 4:45pm - Brookvale Oval

1. Tremaine Jensen

2. Tony Tumusa

3. Josh Minhinnick

4. Niua Finau-Puaka

5. Suliasi Vunivalu

6. Brayden Torpy

7. Jake Turpin

8. Christian Welch ©

9. Aaron Teroi

10. Rhys Kennedy

11. Shae Ah Fook

12. Nelson Asofa-Solomona

13. Pride Petterson-Robati

14. Billy Kitt

15. John Filipo

16. Francis Tualau

17. Vincent Rennie

18. Billy Brittain

19. Una Mohi


Matt Duffie - Knee - Season

Justin O’Neill - Knee - Round 6

Travis Robinson - Knee - Round 5

Cooper Cronk - Shoulder - Round 2

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.