You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
A look back at Spirit of ANZAC medalists

A wall inside Storm HQ at AAMI Park contains a special list of names. 

It’s the list of Storm players who have won the Spirit of ANZAC Medal for best player on the field in the annual ANZAC Day clash which, on all but one occasion, has been played against the NZ Warriors. 

The winner of the medal is decided by the victorious coach just after the full-time siren with the presentation made on-field during the post-match festivities. 

Forward Adam Blair was the first recipient of the Spirit of ANZAC Medal following Storm’s 14-all draw with the Warriors in 2009. Blair went on to play for the Warriors in 2018-20 before bringing an end to his outstanding career that featured 331 NRL appearances, as well as 51 Tests for New Zealand. 

The 2013 and 2016 winners, Ryan Hoffman and Tohu Harris, have also played for the Warriors. 

Storm legend Cameron Smith filled one of the few holes in his resume when he won the medal in 2019. 

The latest recipient was Jahrome Hughes who starred at halfback for Storm in the 42-20 victory in 2021. Hughes' stats on that night included four try assists, three linebreaks and two linebreak assists. 

Storm’s ANZAC Medal recipients 

2009 Adam Blair 
2010 Cooper Cronk 
2012 Kevin Proctor 
2013 Ryan Hoffman 
2016 Tohu Harris 
2017 Nelson Asofa-Solomona 
2018 Billy Slater 
2019 Cameron Smith  
2021 Jahrome Hughes 

Don't miss this year's ANZAC Day clash and secure your seat now. For more information on redeeming your membership ticket, see our guide.

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.