You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Team Announcement: Trial v Warriors

Queensland State of Origin stars Cameron Munster, Harry Grant and Xavier Coates headline the Melbourne Storm line-up to play the NZ Warriors in the Unite for Tonga NRL pre-season trial at Casey Fields on Saturday.

Coach Craig Bellamy has named a 27-man squad for Storm’s first hitout of the season, with the run-on 13 to be decided later in the week.

Munster, Grant and Dally M Hooker of the Year Brandon Smith, who will all miss the round one clash with Wests Tigers, will get valuable game time in the opening trial with Bellamy electing to go with a more experienced squad than he usually does for the first game of the year.

It will be the first match in Storm colours for Coates, who joined Melbourne from Brisbane in the off-season, and is a prime candidate for the wing spot that was left vacant by Josh Addo-Carr when he finished his time with Storm at the end of 2021.

Among those wearing the purple jersey for the first time are top 30 squad members Nick Meaney, Josh King, Tyran Wishart, Jayden Nikorima and Will Warbrick and new development list players Bronson Garlick and Cole Geyer.

The squad also includes a number players from Storm’s two Hostplus Cup affiliates, Sunshine Coast Falcons and Brisbane Tigers, who spent time with Storm over the pre-season and Storm First Nations Pathway Program member AJ Gudgeon.

The NRL trial kicks off at 4pm following the Thunderbolts’ first SG Ball home game of the season against the St George Dragons at 1.30pm..

Special Casey membership packages, including a gameday ticket, are on sale, as well as individual match tickets with discounts for Storm members.

For those who haven’t been to Casey Fields before, the ground is located at Casey Fields Avenue, Cranbourne East.



(alphabetical order)

Grant Anderson

Xavier Coates

Sua Fa’alogo

Darius Farmer

Bronson Garlick

Cole Geyer

Harry Grant  

AJ Gudgeon

Jack Howarth

Dean Ieremia

George Jennings

Cooper Johns

Josh King

Chris Lewis

Trent Loiero

Wes Lolo

Alex MacDonald

Nick Meaney

Cameron Munster

Jayden Nikorima

Jonah Pezet

Will Samuel

Marion Seve

Patrice Siolo

Brandon Smith

Will Warbrick

Tyran Wishart

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.