You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Broncos will be riding back into Suncorp Stadium still smiling after their upset 18-point win over the Roosters at the SCG and hoping the Storm aren't quite back to full strength yet. 

With none of Melbourne's first-choice attacking spine available - Ryan Papenhuyzen, Cameron Munster, Jahrome Hughes and Harry Grant - the Storm still managed to put on 34 unanswered points against Canberra last weekend.

The Broncos have been fiddling with their own roster and seem to have landed more talent for their halves with former Sharks and Titans five-eighth Albert Kelly joining Tyson Gamble as a pairing coach Kevin Walters can build some results around.

Walters believes last weekend's domination of the Roosters can be a turning point for the Broncos and finally lift them from depths of the NRL ladder.

Storm coach Craig Bellamy also seems to be able to fill holes in his side with players of equal class and talent - fullback Nicho Hynes a case in point. In the four matches he's filled in for Papenhuyzen he's made six line breaks, nine try assists, and 26 tackle busts.

The rundown

Team news

Broncos: Rhys Kennedy will not play due to a leg infection so John Asiata moves into the starting side at prop with Dale Copley promoted to the interchange. Selwyn Cobbo is the 18th man.

Last week's 18th man Teui Robati has been named to make his debut off the bench to make up for the absence of suspended prop Matt Lodge in the front row.

Walters has given Anthony Milford a third chance, naming the five-eighth to replace suspended No.7 Tyson Gamble with last round's comeback story Albert Kelly shifting to halfback.

Centre Herbie Farnworth is back in the line-up after his late withdrawal last week.

Kotoni Staggs (knee) and Alex Glenn (calf) are at least another week away from returning. 

The Broncos are aiming for back-to-back wins for the first time since rounds 1-2 of 2020.

Storm: Cooper Johns starts at five-eighth with Chris Smith moving to the bench, while Nelson Asofa-Solomona starts in place of Christian Welch (swollen knee).

Aaron Pene joins the bench and Trent Loero is the 18th man, with Dean Ieremia dropping out of the playing squad on game day.

Welch and Isaac Lumelume dropped out of the squad on Wednesday.

Jahrome Hughes (calf) is back in the No.7 after his late withdrawal from the Raiders clash but back-rower Kenny Bromwich (hamstring) will spend at least another week on the sideline.

Melbourne coach Craig Bellamy expects Ryan Papenhuyzen to be sidelined for 3-4 more weeks which means in-form understudy Nicho Hynes remains at fullback.

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Broncos is number 1 Jamayne Isaako
    Fullback for Storm is number 1 Nicholas Hynes
  • Winger for Broncos is number 2 Xavier Coates
    Winger for Storm is number 2 George Jennings
  • Centre for Broncos is number 3 Herbie Farnworth
    Centre for Storm is number 3 Reimis Smith
  • Centre for Broncos is number 4 Jesse Arthars
    Centre for Storm is number 4 Justin Olam
  • Winger for Broncos is number 5 David Mead
    Winger for Storm is number 5 Josh Addo-Carr
  • Five-Eighth for Broncos is number 6 Anthony Milford
    Five-Eighth for Storm is number 21 Cooper Johns
  • Halfback for Broncos is number 7 Albert Kelly
    Halfback for Storm is number 7 Jahrome Hughes


  • Prop for Broncos is number 10 Payne Haas
    Prop for Storm is number 8 Jesse Bromwich
  • Hooker for Broncos is number 9 Jake Turpin
    Hooker for Storm is number 9 Brandon Smith
  • Prop for Broncos is number 15 John Asiata
    Prop for Storm is number 17 Nelson Asofa-Solomona
  • 2nd Row for Broncos is number 11 Keenan Palasia
    2nd Row for Storm is number 11 Felise Kaufusi
  • 2nd Row for Broncos is number 12 Tevita Pangai Junior
    2nd Row for Storm is number 12 Tom Eisenhuth
  • Lock for Broncos is number 13 Thomas Flegler
    Lock for Storm is number 13 Dale Finucane


  • Interchange for Broncos is number 14 Kobe Hetherington
    Interchange for Storm is number 6 Chris Lewis
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 16 Ethan Bullemor
    Interchange for Storm is number 14 Aaron Booth
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 17 Teui Robati
    Interchange for Storm is number 15 Tui Kamikamica
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 18 Dale Copley
    Interchange for Storm is number 20 Aaron Pene


  • Reserve for Broncos is number 19 Selwyn Cobbo
    Reserve for Storm is number 16 Trent Loiero

Match Officials

  • Referee: Ashley Klein
  • Touch Judge: Dave Munro
  • Touch Judge: Chris Butler
  • Senior Review Official: Henry Perenara

Last updated:

Key match-up

Nelson Asofa-Solomona v Payne Haas: No hype is needed for this heavyweight clash, which sees Asofa-Solomona butting heads with Haas. The Storm prop has scored three tries in his past two games. Haas may be try-less so far but he makes an average 15 hit-ups and runs over 138 metres a game. The presence of these two won't be hard to miss - they will be the two tallest on the field (along with Storm's Christian Welch).

Stat attack

Storm have a stranglehold on meetings with the Broncos having won the past nine in a row. You have to go back to 2016 to find the last Broncos victory (26-16) but that was in Melbourne. The last time the Broncos beat the Storm at Suncorp Stadium was in March 2009 (16-14).


Head to NRL Pick'Em and get pickin’ to win a share of $100,000 cash every week!

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.