You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Gerard Sutton will referee the NRL Telstra Premiership 2020 Grand Final this Sunday, October 25, between Penrith Panthers and Melbourne Storm.

Chris Butler and Todd Smith will be touch judges for the decider, while Steve Chiddy will be the Bunker Review Official.

NRL Head of Football Elite Competitions Graham Annesley said Sutton deserved to officiate in the Premiership decider at ANZ Stadium.

“Gerard has had an excellent regular season as well as Finals Series and the Referees Appointments Committee felt his experience and performances made him the best choice for the Grand Final,” Mr Annesley said.

“Clearly 2020 has presented many challenges, and the referees have performed admirably in dealing with those challenges.

“The return to one referee was obviously a significant change but the referees made the transition seamlessly and have contributed to an exciting season.

“Both Gerard and Ashley Klein have refereed extremely well in the finals series and both should be commended – along with the entire officiating group.”

Sunday’s Grand Final will be Sutton’s sixth Grand Final and his fourth consecutive decider.

NRL General Manager Elite Officiating Bernard Sutton said: “The on-field performances of the officials and support staff have been excellent this season and it is credit to them.

“All of those who will be officiating in the Grand Final have been consistently good and should be congratulated on their achievements.”

Belinda Sharpe was appointed to the NRL Telstra Women’s Premiership Grand Final between Brisbane Broncos and Sydney Roosters, with Liam Kennedy and Drew Oultram named touch judges and Jared Maxwell Bunker Review Official.

The match officials for the NRL Telstra Premiership Grand Final are:

  • Referee: Gerard Sutton
  • Review Official: Steve Chiddy
  • Touch Judges: Chris Butler and Todd Smith
  • Standby Referee: Ashley Klein
  • Standby Touch Judge: David Munro

The match officials for the NRL Telstra Women’s Premiership Grand Final are:

  • Referee: Belinda Sharpe
  • Review Official: Jared Maxwell
  • Touch Judges: Liam Kennedy and Drew Oultram
  • Standby Referee: Ziggy Przeklasa-Adamski
Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.