You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Rugby league's night of nights has seen Jack Wighton and Ali Brigginshaw crowned as Dally M Medal winners at a virtual ceremony broadcast by Fox Sports on Monday night.

Wighton becomes the third Raider to win the Dally M, staving off Clint Gutherson and Nathan Cleary in a thrilling finish.

Brigginshaw will lead the Broncos in search of a third straight NRLW premiership this Sunday.

Here's how the night unfolded:

9.15pm: Canberra's Jack Wighton is the 2020 Dally M Medal winner, clinging on to his lead from Clint Gutherson and Nathan Cleary despite being rested in round 20.

9.10pm The Team of the Year is completed with Clint Gutherson, Cameron Smith, Isaah Yeo, Jack Wighton and Nathan Cleary added to the side. Minor premiers the Panthers have five players in the Team of the Year.

9.00pm Brisbane's Ali Brigginshaw is named as the Dally M female player of the year after another oustanding season with the Broncos as they chase a three-peat. 

8.55pm: Wingers David Nofoaluma and Josh Addo-Carr and centres Kotoni Staggs and Stephen Crichton are added to the Team of the Year.

8.40pm: The Coach of the Year for 2020 is Panthers mentor Ivan Cleary, who has taken his team to 17 wins in a row, the minor premiership and now a shot at the club's third premiership. "A coach is nothing without his players and staff, and I have outstanding players and staff," Cleary said.

8.25pm: The Provan Summons Medal has been won by the New Zealand Warriors for their effort in relocating for the entire season to help keep the competition alive. Back-rower Adam Blair said the team played footy they were proud of despite not knowing how long they would be leaving their families for.

8.20pm: The Dally M Team of the Year is being announced, starting with props Josh Papalii and James Fisher-Harris up front and Viliame Kikau and Tohu Harris in the second row.

7.25pm: Rabbitohs halfback Adam Reynolds was the NRL's top pointscorer in 2020.

7.15pm: The NRL Rookie of the Year is Wests Tigers hooker Harry Grant, who described the year as "pretty special". The 22-year-old played 15 games for the Tigers after swapping from the Storm and enjoyed a superb season.

7.10pm: Rabbitohs winger Alex Johnston is the Ken Irvine Medalist in 2020 as the NRL's top tryscorer. Johnston scored a remarkable five tries in the final round against the Roosters to move to the top of the charts.

Alex Johnston wins Ken Irvine medal

7.05pm: The Peter Frilingos Headline Moment of the Year is the NRL's Project Apollo, which was launched to get the competition back up and running in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. On May 28 the NRL returned to the paddock.

Project Apollo acknowledged with special award

6.55pm: The Dally M Captain of the Year is the Warriors' inspirational skipper Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, who led his men through the toughest of seasons as they spent months away from home to help keep the competition alive.

Tuivasa-Sheck named Dally M captain of the year

6.40pm: Rooster Kennedy Cherrington has been voted the Rebel NRLW Rookie of the Year for her fine debut season.

NRLW Try of the Year - Madison Bartlett

6.35pm: Warrior Madison Bartlett has taken out the NRLW Try of the Year award and Rooster Hannah Southwell won the NRLW Tackle of the Year for her shot on Georgia Hale.

NRLW Tackle of the Year - Hannah Southwell

6.30pm: Manly's Jake Trbojevic and Warrior Tohu Harris finished equal winners of the VB Hard Earned Player of the Year Award.

6.20pm: Broncos centre Kotoni Staggs wins the Drinkwise Try of the Year award for his stunning individual effort against the Dragons in round 15 when he bamboozled Euan Aitken and stepped Matt Dufty to score a pearler.

Try of the Year - Kotoni Staggs

6.15pm: Raiders big man Josh Papalii wins Youi Tackle of the Year honours for his incredible effort to run down Titans half Jamal Fogarty in round 15 at Cbus Super Stadium.

Tackle of the Year - Josh Papalii

Jack Wighton has joined an incredible honour roll of past champions including the eighth Immortal Andrew Johns, who won the award three times, four-time winner Johnathan Thurston and Eels legend Peter Sterling who won two Dally Ms.


Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.