You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Several new faces in Maroons 2020 squad

Kevin Walters has made a change to Queensland's preparations for the 2020 State of Origin series, desperate to avoid a third straight defeat by naming a full-strength squad for a pre-season training camp in February. 

Walters has broken his usual trend of naming only an emerging players' camp for the summer, instead naming every Origin representative who took part in the 2019 campaign to join a host of rising hopefuls pushing for a debut next year.

The exits of Will Chambers (Japanese rugby) and Matt Gillett (retirement) leaves a further hole in the Maroons' experience factor, which has significantly dropped over the past three years.

Prior to the 2019 campaign, Queensland had lost 253 games of Origin experience following the retirements of Cameron Smith, Johnathan Thurston, Billy Slater, Cooper Cronk, Greg Inglis, Darius Boyd, Sam Thaiday and Nate Myles.

"We want the 2020 Origin squad to spend as much time together to build their relationships off the field as well in their specific positions," Walters said of the camp.

"It is also a wonderful opportunity for those who haven't experienced State of Origin football to mix in and spend time with current team members.

"There has always been a strong bond and mateship between Queensland players and we will continue to drive that message over the two-day camp."

Maroons coach Kevin Walters.
Maroons coach Kevin Walters. ©NRL Photos

Returning Maroons star Valentine Holmes is included in the group with the Cowboys recruit set to push for a spot in the backs alongside the likes of Kalyn Ponga, Corey Oates and Dane Gagai.

Parramatta hooker Reed Mahoney, Raiders firebrand Corey Horsburgh and Sharks winger Ronaldo Mulitalo are among the fresh faces vying for a call-up next season.

Of the squad chosen, 10 are yet to make their Origin debut.

The Maroons will assemble in Brisbane on February 1 for a two-day camp after NSW held their own early preparations for the series last week.

Queensland Maroons squad for 2020

Name Club
Jai Arrow Gold Coast Titans
AJ Brimson Gold Coast Titans
Daly Cherry-Evans Manly Sea Eagles
Kurt Capewell Penrith Panthers
Kyle Feldt North Queensland Cowboys
David Fifita Brisbane Broncos
Thomas Flegler  Brisbane Broncos
Jake Friend Sydney Roosters
Dane Gagai South Sydney Rabbitohs
Tim Glasby Newcastle Knights
Coen Hess North Queensland Cowboys
Valentine Holmes North Queensland Cowboys
Corey Horsburgh Canberra Raiders
Ben Hunt St George Illawarra Dragons
Felise Kaufusi Melbourne Storm
Ethan Lowe South Sydney Rabbitohs
Reed Mahoney Parramatta Eels
Moses Mbye Wests Tigers
Josh McGuire North Queensland Cowboys
Anthony Milford Brisbane Broncos
Michael Morgan North Queensland Cowboys
Ronaldo Mulitalo Cronulla Sharks
Cameron Munster Melbourne Storm
Dylan Napa Canterbury Bulldogs
Corey Norman St George Illawarra Dragons
Corey Oates Brisbane Broncos
Joe Ofahengaue Brisbane Broncos
Josh Papalii Canberra Raiders
Kalyn Ponga Newcastle Knights
Phillip Sami Gold Coast Titans
Jadyn Su'A South Sydney Rabbitohs
Jarrod Wallace Gold Coast Titans
Christian Welch Melbourne Storm
Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.