You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Ipswich Jets ended the finals campaign of the Easts Tigers on Sunday, posting a 44-18 win at North Ipswich Reserve.

The hosts took an early lead after eight minutes when Matt Parcell crossed underneath the posts for his first of five tries for the afternoon.

A resolute Tigers outfit bounced back quickly, taking a 12-6 lead courtesy of back-to-back tries through captain Tommy Butterfield, who was set up by departing Storm forward Dayne Weston.

Get your photo on our run through banner for finals and ensure #werunasone in 2015. Upload here.

Man of the match Parcell struck again after 27 minutes to even the scores in a lively first half display of finals football. Parcell completed his hat-trick on the 31 minute mark to create some distance between the two teams heading into the main break.


A further five tries from the home side signalled the end of a promising campaign for Craig Ingebrigtsen’s Tigers, who were eliminated after making grand final appearances over the past two seasons.

Storm forward Felise Kaufusi scored a consolation try for the visitors late in the contest, but it wasn’t enough to turn the tide.

Ipswich Jets 44
Tries: Matt Parcell 5, Carlin Anderson, Nemani Valekapa, Kurtis Lingwoodock
Goals: Carlin Anderson 6


Easts Tigers 18
Tries: Brandon Downey, Felise Kaufusi, Tommy Butterfield
Goals: Shaun Nona 2, Brandon Downey

At North Ipswich Reserve.

Ipswich Jets: 1. Carlin Anderson 2. Marmin Barba 3. Richard Pandia 4. Nemani Valekapa 5. Brendon McGrady 6. Josh Cleeland 7. Dane Phillips 8. Josh Seage 9. Matt Parcell 10. Rod Griffin 11. Sam Martin 12. Kurt Capewell 13. Keiron Lander (c) 15. Kurtis Lingwoodock 16. Billy McConnachie 17. Liam Capewell 22. Fakahoko Teutau 

Easts Tigers: 1. Donald Malone 2. Brandon Downey 3. Shane Neumann 4. Michael Kai 5. Richie Kennar 6. Shaun Nona 19. Brentt Warr 8. Liam McDonald 9. Tommy Butterfield (c) 10. Felise Kaufusi 11. Dayne Weston 12. Jake Foster 13. Troy Giess 14. Mathew Pitman 15. Matthew Zgrajewski 16. Francis Tualau 17. Billy Walters 18. Foisa Peni                                       

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.