You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Who will don the 2024 Spirit of ANZAC Medal?

A wall inside Storm HQ at AAMI Park contains a special list of names.  

It’s the list of Storm players who have won the Spirit of ANZAC Medal for best player on the field in the annual ANZAC Day clash. 

The winner of the medal is decided by the victorious coach just after the full-time siren with the presentation made on-field during the post-match festivities.  

Forward Adam Blair was the first recipient of the Spirit of ANZAC Medal following Storm’s 14-all draw with the New Zealand Warriors in 2009. Storm legend Cameron Smith filled one of the few holes in his resume when he won the medal in 2019, finally joining his legendary teammates Billy Slater and Cooper Cronk on the honour roll. 

Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Jahrome Hughes and Ryan Papenhuyzen are three of four recipients still in the current squad, with Nick Meaney taking home the medal last year when Storm downed the Warriors 30-22. Meaney's stats on the night included scoring two tries, five conversions and topping the charts for most run metres (241).

Storm’s ANZAC Medal recipients  

2009 Adam Blair  
2010 Cooper Cronk  
2012 Kevin Proctor  
2013 Ryan Hoffman  
2016 Tohu Harris  
2017 Nelson Asofa-Solomona  
2018 Billy Slater  
2019 Cameron Smith   
2021 Jahrome Hughes 
2022 Ryan Papenhuyzen 
2023 Nick Meaney 

The 2024 ANZAC Day clash kicks-off Thursday, 7.50pm. Secure your seat to the special event now.

To own Storm’s 2024 ANZAC Round Jersey, visit the Storm Store online. 

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.