You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
New schools join Storm Cup

A record number of rugby league playing schools from across Melbourne will contest the 2023 Storm Cup which starts on Tuesday (21 March).

Established to provide up-and-coming Victorian rugby league players more opportunities to play the sport, the Storm Cup’s expansion further highlights rugby league’s growth in a non-traditional state.

The new-look under-18 boys competition, kicking off at Seabrook Reserve in Broadmeadow, includes the five Victorian Rugby League Academy schools plus newcomers Craigieburn Secondary College and Tarneit Senior College.

Also in the draw are The Grange P-12 College, Mt Ridley P-12 College, first-time entrants Manor Lakes P-12 College, Victoria University Secondary College and Hallam Secondary College.

The new format will see the winner of the Storm Cup play-off in the quarter-finals of the Peter Mulholland Cup, the NSW Schoolboys competition.

The inaugural season of the Storm Cup saw Hallam Secondary College and The Grange play off in a drawn match at Gosch’s Paddock and being presented with the trophy together on AAMI Park prior to the Storm NRL match.

Storm Cup matches will be live-streamed on the Herald Sun website.

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.