You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dolphins to join NRL premiership in 2023

The NRL Telstra Premiership will expand to 17 teams from the 2023 season after the Australian Rugby League Commission (ARLC) approved the grant of a new licence to “The Dolphins”.

The expanded 17-team competition will see the NRL Telstra Premiership become a 26-Round competition with every team continuing to play 24 games. All teams will receive 2 byes during the season with the total number of regular season games increasing from 192 to 204.

Melbourne Storm CEO Justin Rodski today welcomed the announcement.

“This is an exciting period of the game. We all want to see the game grow across the country and the NRL, Commission and The Dolphins are to be congratulated on the announcement today,” Rodski said.

Storm has always had the view that the NRL competitions - men and women - had greater potential for growth, particularly if it encourages more kids to play the game, gets more fans through the gate and more people watching at home.

Storm CEO Justin Rodski

“We also believe expansion will help to support growth in Victoria in the years ahead, particularly after the last two years which has impacted on our grassroots participation and ability to play at home.”

“I’m sure everyone at Storm will look forward to welcoming The Dolphins to AAMI Park for the first time in 2023.”

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.