You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
RLPA 2020 Players' Champion contenders released

The list of 64 contenders for the prestigious RLPA Players' Champion award has been released.

The peer-nominated honour will once again recognise the best players from both the NRL and NRLW seasons – as voted by those who take the field each week.

Roosters superstar James Tedesco will be looking to collect the prestigious award for the third time in four years while Jessica Sergis will be chasing back-to-back Players' Champion awards after collecting the inaugural women's award in 2019.

In 2020 the RLPA are partnering with Channel Nine to deliver the announcement  on grand final day.

2019 Players' Champion James Tedesco with Immortal Wally Lewis.
2019 Players' Champion James Tedesco with Immortal Wally Lewis.

The Players' Champion 2020 Contenders

Brisbane Broncos

  • Pat Carrigan
  • Herbie Farnworth
  • Payne Haas
  • Kotoni Staggs

Canterbury Bulldogs

  • Raymond Faitala-Mariner
  • Kieran Foran
  • Will Hopoate
  • Josh Jackson

Canberra Raiders

  • Josh Papalii
  • Elliott Whitehead
  • George Williams
  • Jack Wighton
Raiders five-eighth Jack Wighton.
Raiders five-eighth Jack Wighton. ©Robb Cox/NRL Photos

Cronulla Sharks

  • Shaun Johnson
  • Sione Katoa
  • Toby Rudolf
  • Siosifa Talaka

Gold Coast Titans

  • AJ Brimson
  • Jamal Fogarty
  • Moe Fotuaika
  • Brian Kelly

Manly Sea Eagles

  • Daly Cherry-Evans
  • Addin Fonua-Blake
  • Curtis Sironen
  • Jake Trbojevic

Melbourne Storm

  • Jahrome Hughes
  • Cameron Munster
  • Ryan Papenhuyzen
  • Cameron Smith

Newcastle Knights

  • David Klemmer
  • Kurt Mann
  • Kalyn Ponga
  • Jacob Saifiti
Warriors captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.
Warriors captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck. ©Grant Trouville/NRL Photos

New Zealand Warriors

  • Karl Lawton
  • Tohu Harris
  • Peta Hiku
  • Roger Tuivasa-Sheck

North Queensland Cowboys

  • Kyle Feldt
  • Josh McGuire
  • Reece Robson
  • Jason Taumalolo

Parramatta Eels

  • Reagan Campbell-Gillard
  • Clinton Gutherson
  • Junior Paulo
  • Maika Sivo
Eels fullback Clint Gutherson.
Eels fullback Clint Gutherson. ©Jason O'Brien/NRL Photos

Penrith Panthers

  • Nathan Cleary
  • Stephen Crichton
  • Api Koroisau
  • Viliame Kikau

South Sydney Rabbitohs

  • Tom Burgess
  • Dane Gagai
  • Campbell Graham
  • Jaydn Su’A

St George Illawarra Dragons

  • Euan Aitken
  • Matt Dufty
  • Zac Lomax
  • Cam McInnes
Dragons skipper Cam McInnes.
Dragons skipper Cam McInnes.

Sydney Roosters

  • Luke Keary
  • Brett Morris
  • Siosiua Taukeiaho
  • James Tedesco

Wests Tigers

  • Harry Grant
  • Luciano Leilua
  • Benji Marshall
  • David Nofoaluma
2019 NRLW Players' Champion Jess Sergis with women's rugby league legend Tarsha Gale.
2019 NRLW Players' Champion Jess Sergis with women's rugby league legend Tarsha Gale.

The Honour Roll


  • 2019 James Tedesco
  • 2018 Kalyn Ponga
  • 2017 James Tedesco
  • 2016 Jason Taumalolo
  • 2015 Johnathan Thurston
  • 2014 Johnathan Thurston
  • 2013 Johnathan Thurston
  • 2012 Ben Barba
  • 2011 Akuila Uate
  • 2010 Darius Boyd
  • 2009 Jarryd Hayne
  • 2008 Braith Anasta & Petero Civoniceva
  • 2007 Matt Bowen
  •  2006 Ben Kennedy
  • 2005 Johnathan Thurston
  • 2004 Danny Buderus


  • 2019 Jessica Sergis
Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.