You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
November 29: Slater and Smith get the Boot; Brandy drops 46 on French

On this day, Greg Alexander racks up a record tally against France, and Billy Slater and Cameron Smith win the Golden Boot.


Greg Alexander stepped into the record books with 46 points in Australia’s 76-8 win over a French ‘B’ side at Lyon. Alexander’s record Kangaroo tally came from five tries and 13 goals from as many attempts.


Shaun Lane was born in Sydney. The tall back-rower made his NRL debut with Canterbury in 2015 and had another short stint at the Warriors the following year before establishing himself in first grade at Manly in 2017-18. He switched to Parramatta in 2019 and has racked up 73 appearances, helping the Eels to the play-offs in all three seasons.


The ARL agree to release Penrith players John Cartwright, Steve Waddell, Barry Walker and Dave Alexander from their ARL contracts, but continue to defend legal action against seven other players.


Brisbane sign former Wests prop Harvey Howard to a one-year deal.

Harvey Howard takes on the Roosters in the 2000 grand final.
Harvey Howard takes on the Roosters in the 2000 grand final. ©NRL Photos


Media reports suggest Wayne Bennett is a certainty to retain his position as Australian coach, despite their stunning Tri Nations defeat. Victorious New Zealand coach Brian McClennan says he would not be tactically smart enough to coach in the NRL.


The South Sydney Football Club wins a members’ vote to take over the running of the licensed leagues club. Majority owner Peter Holmes a Court outlined plans for a $10 million redevelopment of the club, which include a Legends’ Walk and a health and fitness centre to be operated by the football club.


Melbourne and Australian fullback Billy Slater is named the winner of the 2008 Golden Boot award and the RLPA Player of the Year at an awards ceremony in Sydney. Roosters captain Braith Anasta and Penrith veteran Petero Civoniceva share the Players’ Player award, while Manly’s David Williams picks up the rookie of the year award.


The NRL announces a national championship match between the winners of the NSW Cup and Queensland’s Intrust Super Cup will feature on grand final day from 2014.

The Cameron Smith legacy


Kangaroos captain Cameron Smith adds another Golden Boot title to a long list of honours and achievements in 2017.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.     

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.