You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Munster named Storm Player of the Year

Cameron Munster has been crowned Melbourne Storm's Player of the Year for the first time in his career.

The 24-year-old received the prestigious award on Wednesday night at a sold-out event at Peninsula Docklands.

Munster claimed the Player of the Year award after receiving a total of 32 votes - edging out teammates Dale Finucane (27 votes) and Cameron Smith (22 votes).

It caps off a remarkable rise for Munster who has become one of the elite players in the NRL. Since switching from fullback to five-eighth 18 months ago, the exciting playmaker not only took the opportunity but has thrived.

Munster thrived in the role of Melbourne's chief playmaker in 2018, producing a career high 15 try assists and over 3,000 kick metres - tripling his previous season best.

Now the Storm, Queensland and Australian No.6 has earned place in Storm history by winning the Club's highest individual honour. He was also named the Suzuki Members Player of the Year on the night.

The Storm Player of the Year awards were presented by BetEasy, one of the largest and most professional online gaming companies in the world.

In other awards on the night, Dale Finucane was named Best Forward for the first time in his career while Billy Slater was crowned Best Back in his final season.

Both Slater and Ryan Hoffman farewelled the Club, their teammates and their fans on Wednesday night, bringing to an end their 16 years of incredible service to the Melbourne Storm.

The Rookie of the Year award, named in Slater's honour, was awarded to Brandon Smith while emerging prop Christian Welch was named Most Improved Player.

Scott Drinkwater was rewarded for his outstanding year with Easts Tigers by taking out the Cooper Cronk Feeder Club Player of the Year.

The night also saw three Life Members inducted for their remarkable and longstanding service to the Club - Storm prop Jesse Bromwich, departing senior assistant Adam O'Brien and defensive consultant John Donehue all receiving the distinguished honour.

2018 Award winners:

Best Easy Player of the Year - Cameron Munster
Best Back - Billy Slater
Best Forward - Dale Finucane
Billy Slater Rookie of the Year - Brandon Smith
Cooper Cronk Feeder Club Player of the Year - Scott Drinkwater
Most Improved Player award - Christian Welch
Suzuki Members' Player of the Year - Cameron Munster
Best Try - Josh Addo-Carr, Round 8 v Warriors
Life Member Inductees - Jesse Bromwich, Adam O'Brien, John Donohue
Michael Moore Trophy (Club Person of the Year) - Matthew Barradeen
Greg Brentnall Young Achievers Award - Haele Finau
Under 20's Darren Bell Medal - Trent Toelau
Chairman's Award - Ashley Tucker

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.