You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Cameron Smith and Suliasi Vunivalu have both been named on the shortlist for the 2017 Golden Boot award.

The Storm pair are now a chance to claim the mantle of the world’s best rugby league player.

They are joined on the four-man shortlist by Cowboys prop Jason Taumalolo and English winger Jermaine McGillvary.

Australian coach Mal Meninga, Scotland boss Steve McCormack and journalists Steve Mascord and Martyn Sadler were the quartet who selected the shortlist.

Either Smith and Vunivalu could become the second consecutive Storm player to win the award after Cooper Cronk last year.

Smith has previously won the award in 2007and is coming to the end of a flawless 2017 that saw him named the Dally M Player of the Year.

Making the Golden Boot shortlist in just his second season is yet another incredible achievement for Fijian sensation Vunivalu.

The 21-year-old has been the NRL’s leading try scorer in both years and has scored nine tries this tournament, the second most of any player.

The Gold Boot winner will be named on Wednesday as part of the build up to Saturday night’s Rugby League World Cup Final between Australia and England.

2018 Memberships on sale NOW! There’s no better time!

Storm Golden Boot winners:
2016 – Cooper Cronk
2009 – Greg Inglis
2008 – Billy Slater
2007 – Cameron Smith

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.