You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition - NRL Premiership
Round - Round 05
Teams – Melbourne Storm v Newcastle Knights
Date –    2nd of April 2016
Venue – AAMI Park, Melbourne VIC
Photographer – Brett Crockford
Description –

Two sides will contest the NRL Minor Premiership in the final round of the home and away season for only the second time in 38 years on Saturday night.

History will be made at AAMI Park when the first placed Storm host the second placed Sharks with the winner claiming the J.J Giltinan Shield and momentum heading into the 2016 Finals Series.

The last time the top two teams on the NRL ladder played off for the minor premiership in the final round of a season came in 2013 when the Roosters and Rabbitohs met in a blockbuster match-up at Sydney’s Allianz Stadium.

Be at AAMI Park when we take on the Sharks, Saturday 3 September, 7:30pm.

Prior to that you have to go back to 1978 when Western Suburbs eventually overcame Cronulla in a one-point thriller to write their name into the history books.

Saturday night’s meeting between Melbourne and Cronulla will just be the 10th time overall in rugby league history the competition’s top two sides will play off for the minor premiership in the final round of the regular season.

Storm will be aiming for their fifth first place finish in the last 11 years.

Final round playoffs for the Minor Premiership

1919 – Balmain v Eastern Suburbs

1927 – South Sydney v St. George

1939 – Balmain v St. George

1941 – Balmain v Newtown

1949 – South Sydney v St. George

1962 – St. George v Western Suburbs

1970 – South Sydney v Manly

1978 – Western Suburbs v Cronulla

2013 – Sydney v South Sydney

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.