You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

New Zealand international Jesse Bromwich has claimed Melbourne Storm’s Player of the Year award for the second year running after being crowned the Club’s best player in 2015 at the Storm’s end of season awards ceremony on Wednesday night.

Bromwich backed up his outstanding 2014 season with another exceptional campaign in 2015, finishing five votes clear of Captain Cameron Smith and youngster Cameron Munster who both finished in second place.

In front of a sold out function at Peninsula Docklands, Head Coach Craig Bellamy presented Bromwich with the bronze trophy and medallion after a season where the 26-year old confirmed his status as rugby league’s premier front-rower.

Playing every match for the season, Bromwich’s brute strength combined with his athleticism continually caused havoc for opposition defences as he accumulated 4118 metres gained for the season, a club high.

Bromwich’s work rate and game time was unrivalled across the competition in 2015 as the prop averaged an impressive 63 minutes per game in the front-row, spending 80 per cent of time on the field throughout Melbourne’s entire season. This comes off the back of playing 103 out of a possible 104 matches dating back to 2012, highlighting Bromwich’s durability and his importance to the team.

A six-time winner of the Melbourne Storm Player of the Year Award, Storm Captain Cameron Smith again lead his side with distinction in 2015, culminating in a second place finish behind Bromwich.

For the 10th time Smith closed out the year as Storm’s leading points scorer and finished second for try assists. His importance in defence was also paramount with the number nine recording over 1,000 tackles from 25 games.    

It was a record-breaking year for the Storm captain who played his 300th first-grade match in Round 19, becoming just the 24th player in history to do so.

After playing one first-grade match last season, Cameron Munster experienced a breakout year to finish equal second alongside Smith in Player of the Year voting.

The 21-year old featured in 19-games at fullback, slotting into the role with little fuss while adding a new dimension to the Storm attack, scoring seven tries.

His courage, toughness and security in defence also impressed while in the number one jersey as he compiled a string of performances which belied his years during 2015.

Munster was also recognised for his breakout season with the Club’s Rookie of the Year Award while Tim Glasby received 2015’s Most Improved honour after being one of only six Storm players to feature in every game for the year.

In another part of the evening, departing forward Ryan Hinchcliffe was farewelled with a tribute from head coach Craig Bellamy as well as being presented with life membership for his outstanding service and contribution to the Club.

Voting for Storm’s Player of the Year award takes place after each round by the coaches and players.

Final 2015 Player of the Year leaderboard

Jesse Bromwich 29
Cameron Smith 24
Cameron Munster 24
Cooper Cronk 19
Marika Koroibete 17
Tohu Harris 15
William Chambers 13
Blake Green 10
Dale Finucane 9
Kevin Proctor 7

Other winners at the 2015 Storm Player of the Year awards were:

Rookie of the Year – Cameron Munster
Most Improved – Tim Glasby
Best Forward – Cameron Smith
Best Back – Cameron Munster
U20s Best Forward – Joe Stimson
U20s Best Back – Jake Turpin
U20s Darren Bell Medal (Player of the Year) – Latrell Robinson
Greg Brentnall Young Achievers Award (SG Ball) – Aaron Teroi
Clubperson of the Year – Dan Di Pasqua (Head of Strength)
Life member inductees – Ryan Hinchcliffe and Julie Cliff (Accounts Officer)
Suzuki Members’ Player of the Year – Cooper Cronk and Jesse Bromwich

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.