You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Falcons continue winning ways against Dolphins

A resolute Sunshine Coast Falcons picked up back-to-back wins, outscoring the Redcliffe Dolphins to post a 28-12 victory at Sunshine Coast Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The home side picked up where they left off against the Capras last weekend, with Jake Turpin giving the Falcons an early lead.

A penalty try awarded to Travis Robinson for foul play enabled the Falcons to extend their lead to 12 points, giving them a comfortable first half buffer.

The Dolphins were quick to hit back as Jon Green scored a much needed try for the visitors, who battled to force their way back into the match.

Any changes in momentum were quickly put to bed by a shrewd Travis Robinson offload, which fell to Jay Lobwein, who expertly set up Sam Young with a well-timed pass in the corner.

With the match beginning to slip away from them, the away side were quick to make their mark on the second half. A grubber kick from Darcy Etrich was chased down by John Brady, who dived across the line – saving the ball from going out of play – and scoring in the process.

A penalty goal from Ryan Hansen extended the Falcons lead to six points, but by this point, the match was still on the line.

An attacking Falcons outfit continually pushed for a much needed break away try and were rewarded for their attacking consistency late in the second half.

This led to an impressive attacking sequence which saw the Falcons complete six passes from both sides of the field, culminating in Suliasi Vunivalu scoring in the corner.

A Redcliffe knock back effectively sealed the visitor’s fate as David Oakes capitalised to score games final try, which put the Falcons lead beyond reach.

For more information on the Intrust Super Cup, visit

Sunshine Coast Falcons 28
Tries: Sam Young, penalty try [Travis Robinson], Suliasi Vunivalu, David Oakes, Jake Turpin
Goals: Ryan Hansen 4


Redcliffe Dolphins 12
Tries: John Brady, Jon Green
Goals: Josh Beehag 2

at Sunshine Coast Stadium.

Sunshine Coast Falcons: 1. Sam Young 2. Young Tonumaipea 3. Travis Robinson 4. Rueben Baillie 5. Suliasi Vunivalu 6. David Oakes 7. Jake Turpin 8. James Ackerman 9. Billy Brittain 10. Ryan Hansen (c) 11. Joe Stimson 12. Jacob Samoa (c) 13. Jye Ballinger 14. Jay Lobwein 15. Johnny Vuetibau 20. Kurt Mann 19. Tom Murphy

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.