You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
 - PHOTO : CHARLES KNIGHT - SMPIMAGES.COM - NYC ROUND 11 -  GOLD COAST TITANS v NZ WARRIORS AT CBUS STADIUM, 24th MAY 2014. This image is for Editorial Use Only. Any further use or individual sale of the image must be cleared by application to the Manager Sports Media Publishing (SMP Images).

Young Thunderbolts forward Nelson Asofa-Solomona has been rewarded for a strong season in the U20s, earning selection in the 2014 NYC Cup Team of the Year.

The second-rower has proved not only to be a solid foundation in defence for the young Storm side but also a threatening attacking option, scoring 14 tries so far in season 2014.

Asofa-Solomona follows in the footsteps of former Storm NYC Cup Team of the Year inductees Jesse Bromwich, Mahe Fonua, Kenny Bromwich and former player Gareth Widdop. 

Million Dollar Match: 5 Sept, AAMI Park. Be there for your chance “Kick to Cure” and win $1million. Buy tickets here.

2014 NYC Cup Team of the Year

1. Jake Mamo (Newcastle Knights)

2. Valentine Holmes (Cronulla Sharks)

3. Sione Mata'utia (Newcastle Knights)

4. Brendan Elliot (Sydney Roosters)

5. Nene Macdonald (Sydney Roosters)

6. Te Maire Martin (Wests Tigers)

7. Drew Hutchison (St.George Illawarra Dragons)

8. Andy Saunders (Penrith Panthers)

9. Manaia Cherrington (Wests Tigers)

10. Sam Lisone (Warriors)

11. Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm)

12. Tepai Moeroa (Parramatta Eels)

13. Willis Meehan (Sydney Roosters)

14. Danny Levi (Newcastle Knights)

15. Joseph Tapine (Newcastle Knights)

16. Addin Fonua-Blake (St.George Illawarra Dragons)

17. Kane Elgey (Gold Coast Titans)

Coach: Mick Crawley (Newcastle Knights)


Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.