You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition - NRL Premiership Round - Round 03 Teams – NZ Warriors v Melbourne Storm Date – 20th of March 2016 Venue – Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland, NZ Photographer – Simon Watts

Melbourne Storm v New Zealand Warriors
Monday April 25, 7pm

There is hardly a better sight in Australian sport than a big crowd brought to silence as the Last Post echoes around AAMI Park.
Those moving scenes will again feature when Storm and the Warriors renew their ANZAC Day rivalry this Monday night.
The blockbuster clash has attracted an average crowd of 22,722 over the years and another big turnout is expected.
The Warriors will look to avenge their loss to Storm back in Round 3 when an intercept try to Marika Koroibete sealed a 21-14 win. However since then the Kiwi outfit have got their season back on track, winning three of their last four games.
Their season was dealt a cruel blow though with star recruit Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, ruled out for the season with a ruptured ACL.
Experienced winger Manu Vatuvei returns for the Warriors after a two-week absence with a hamstring injury while Storm regain a winger of their own as Young Tonumaipea is recalled after being a late withdrawal last week due to a calf strain.

Be at AAMI Park on ANZAC Day. Get tickets to the Warriors blockbuster!

Key Match-ups:

1. Marika Koroibete v Manu Vatuvei
The go-to try scorers of their respective sides. Koroibete leads the way for Storm having crossed the chalk on four occasions so far this season. Both men are true power runners, with Koroibete averaging 9.6 metres per run this season while his Kiwi counterpart averages 9.3m. Whichever winger can fire come ANZAC Day will be tough to stop and each man will no doubt have a big say in getting their team over the line.

2. Tohu Harris v Ryan Hoffman
Hoffman, the Mr. Consistent of years past, has been replaced by his Kiwi replica since moving to the Warriors at the end of 2014. On Monday night the past and present Storm No.12s will go head-to-head. Both players are playing 80 minutes a game this season and have made careers around leaving nothing out on the field. Expect more of the same on Monday night with everything to play for.

3. Cooper Cronk v Shaun Johnson
One is a master tactician, the other with a profound love for the flashy brilliance. Cronk and Johnson are contrasting in their styles but similar in their match-winning ability as we saw on full display last week. Johnson had a day out against the Bulldogs, finishing the game with a line break and three try assists. A day later Cronk matched the effort, scoring a try himself and the winning field goal in golden point. Both playmakers will be looking to stamp their own unique mark on the game with the result likely to hinge on who is more successful in doing so.

History: Played 37; Warriors 16, Storm 19, Drawn 2. Nothing splits the two teams in recent history as they have split the ledger at three-apiece.

What we’ve said:

"The day is all about helping your mate and doing what you can for your mate until the very end. It is what the day deserves so I'm sure you'll see a very special game on Monday" - Cameron Smith

“It is like the Warriors have a second home here, they’ve got that many supporters here but I’m sure Melbourne Storm supporters will come out and make that atmosphere unreal” – Kevin Proctor

What they’ve said:

“These games are traditionally always a real battle so we’ve got to be patient” – Andrew McFadden

“I think I’m just going to play my game and what I do best, that is going to be the big thing for me, the stuff I do well I’ve just got to stick to it” – Tuimoala Lolohea

“It’s great having Manu back after a couple of weeks out… he’s obviously a hugely important player for us who brings so much to the team” – Andrew McFadden

Match Officials: Referee – Matt Cecchin; Assistant – Gavin Reynolds; Touch Judges – Brett Suttor & Dave Munro; Review Officials – Ashley Klein & Ben Galea; Senior Review Official – Luke Patten.

Broadcast: TV – Fox Sports 1, Radio – ABC Grandstand & Triple M, Online – NRL Digital Pass.


Melbourne Storm

 New Zealand Warriors

1. Cameron Munster

1. Tuimoala Lolohea

2. Young Tonumaipea

2. David Fusitu’a

3. Richard Kennar

3. Blake Ayshford

4. Ben Hampton

4. Solomone Kata

5. Marika Koroibete

5. Manu Vatuvei

6. Blake Green

6. Thomas Leuluai

7. Cooper Cronk

7. Shaun Johnson

8. Jesse Bromwich

8. Sam Lisone

9. Cameron Smith ©

9. Issac Luke

10. Jordan McLean

10. Ben Matulino

11. Kevin Proctor

11. Bodene Thompson

12. Tohu Harris

12. Ryan Hoffman (c)

13. Dale Finucane

13. Simon Mannering





14. Kenny Bromwich

14. Jonathan Wright

15. Tim Glasby

15. Jacob Lillyman

16. Felise Kaufusi

16. Charlie Gubb

17. Nelson Asofa-Solomona

17. Ligi Sao



Coach: Craig Bellamy

Coach: Andrew Mcfadden

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.