You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

On Friday, Melbourne Storm will take on the New Zealand Warriors for the sixth time on ANZAC Day. Previewing the clash, takes a look at the history of one of the competition’s most entertaining rivalries.

Over the years, Melbourne’s traditional ANZAC Day meeting with the Warriors has turned into one of the most anticipated games on the NRL calendar. History shows Melbourne slightly holds the upper hand in this now traditional meeting, boasting three from the past five ANZAC Day matches against the Warriors.

Aside from the 2010 contest, where Melbourne triumphed 40-6 at Etihad Stadium, clashes between the two sides have traditionally been tight on ANZAC Day.

This was typified none more so in the inaugural ANZAC Day meeting between Storm and the Warriors. On a wet and windy night at Olympic Park, 15,200 fans braved the chilly conditions and were rewarded with a modern day classic.

Both sides could not be separated following 90 minutes of play, finishing the match 14 points apiece after a titanic struggle. The tied result was Melbourne Storm’s first drawn match since golden point extra-time was introduced into the competition in 2003.

Last year, Melbourne’s meeting with the Warriors on ANZAC Day provided yet another memorable match at AAMI Park.  In a game of many momentum swings, Craig Bellamy’s side finished the match 28-18 winners, edging out the Warriors thanks to two late tries in front of a sell out crowd.

The 2014 match-up between these two traditional rivals promises to be another classic encounter. Book your tickets today.

Since 2009

Round 7, 2009 – Melbourne Storm 14 drew with Warriors 14 at Olympic Park

Round 7, 2010 – Melbourne Storm 40 defeated Warriors 6 at Etihad Stadium

Round 7, 2011 – Melbourne Storm 14 defeated by Warriors 18 at AAMI Park

Round 8, 2012 – Melbourne Storm 32 defeated Warriors 14 at AAMI Park

Round 7, 2013 – Melbourne Storm 28 defeated Warriors 18 at AAMI Park

Spirit of ANZAC Medallists

Friday night will be the sixth ANZAC Day meeting between Storm and the Warriors. Since playing for the Michael Moore Trophy for the first time in 2009, a Spirit of ANZAC Medal has also been awarded to a player who best typifies courage and comradeship. The much-coveted Michael Moore Trophy is awarded to the winning team each time Storm play the Warriors. Named in honour of Storm’s inaugural football manager who tragically passed away in Auckland on the night of the opening round clash in 2000.

2009 – Adam Blair

2010 – Cooper Cronk

2011 – Krisnan Inu

2012 – Kevin Proctor

2013 – Ryan Hoffman

Acknowledgement of Country

Melbourne Storm respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.